Assignment 6

Dear furry friends,

Life among giants means confusing emotional masks.

Jils brought me to the animal clinic today for a check up. It was fun because I got to meet other animals. We were talking to each other. Our humans didn’t hear us.

One of the most memorable animals I met was Rose, a ginger tabby cat. She was old and gentle, and very very sick. She was in a lot of pain. I was so scared and sad for her, but she told me not to be, because she was going to be freed soon – the doctors were going to end the pain for her forever. I don’t know what that means, but I am worried for her. Her humans were this old couple. Jils made friends with them and they talked about Rose. The old couple looked really sad, their eyes were red like Jils when she cries. But the strange thing was…they were trying to smile. They kept rubbing their eyes. Why? They were clearly sad because Rose was sick, but they kept trying to hide their emotions. Why?

I noticed that this happens a lot with humans. Whenever Jils brings me to the malls, or when I play outside, I like to watch the giants because they are so fascinating. They are usually laughing or smiling when they interact with each other. And that is considered the norm. Sometimes I see a little girl fall down and start crying – and everyone else turns to look at her. Or when someone gets angry and shouts – they become the centre of attention. This is so weird to me.

So back to Rose and her humans. In the waiting room, there were a lot of interaction among the animals and humans. We animals were either playing with each other, crying, barking, jumping etc. The humans on the other hand were making polite conversation, smiling and laughing, or just being quiet. As usual.

There were kids in the room with us too. One human boy tried to pick me up and I hopped away in fright. Another human who I assumed is his mother started to tell him off fiercely. Every pair of eyes turned to the pair. The boy started to cry but his mother told him to stop crying right now.

After playing around with a ball of yarn with Rose, the doctor came out, took Rose in his arms and took her into a room. Her humans did not follow, but they finally started to cry. All the other giants in the room turned their attention to Rose’s humans. Some outright stared, and the others were more surreptitious. The old woman’s sobbing became uncontrollable, and the man had to bring her out. All eyes followed the couple. Meanwhile, a huge dog started barking incessantly (the doctor just gave him a shot) and no one stared.

But that’s what I don’t get. When we animals are scared, in pain, or sad – we show it in our own ways. But humans try to hide it. It’s like their default emotion is supposed to be happiness – or nothing at all. Once a human starts crying, or shows anger, they become a temporary outcast. Other humans stare or avoid them. Why?

Dear furry friends,

Living with humans, there are many things I don’t get. But this one takes the cake. I thought giants were the most evolved in communicating their feelings. I guess we have to give them credit where it’s due, though. It must be hard to mask your true senses. Imagine having to pretend to be happy when we’re actually hungry or scared. I’d die from a bunny heart attack.

Leave a Reply

